Books

The Murmurings by Carly Anne West

murmurings-west

Warning: Spoilers

The Murmurings by Carly Anne West is a disappointment to me. I thought that I was in for a creepy tale of sorts that would leave me disturbed or make my heart race but no, the “scary parts” didn’t even make me flinch. In fact, I wasn’t affected by anything at all throughout the entire read. So yeah, this book completely failed in the emotions-evoking department for me. The characters weren’t “human” at all. They can barely pass off as alive with the only one that seemed to actually breathe for me was Nell, Sophie’s deceased sister.

Also, I find the romance between Sophie and Evan ridiculous. Popular guy who’s like a prefect of sorts always catching nobody-girl being late and suddenly, he calls her after getting her number via Google, asking if he could go over to her place to hang out or whatever. Then, he gets some more info about Nell, he dumps info about Deb, he invites Sophie over to check out some website related to what Deb and Nell were experiencing, blah, blah, blah and boom! They kiss. What? I’m sorry but WHAT?! Dude, I read a lot of romance, watched a lot of romance, heard a lot about relationships from many people and experienced some of my own but seriously, the escalation between Sophie and Evan’s “chemistry” is stupid. As much as I liked the starting of the story, how their romance buds is just plain stupid.

Oh, and let’s not forget Sophie mentally reprimanding herself for not bringing deodorant when Evan and her headed to Jerome to get more clues about Nell. Really? You’re thinking about stinking in front of a guy when you’re in the middle of doing something more serious? And, here I was thinking that Sophie would be an ‘I-don’t-give-a-damn-about-anything-cause-all-I-care-about-is-finding-out-more-about-my-sister’ kind of girl. You’re a disgrace in this category, Sophie. Katniss Everdeen of the Hunger Games is a hundred percent better sister compared to you. Heck, Echo of Saving Zoë does a better job than you in being a sister who wants to know more about her sister and what happened.

Then, there’s also the stupid argument between Sophie and Evan. Evan, you disappointed in Sophie not telling you about her being a Seer too is understandable but to be upset/angry over it? No. You don’t have rights to the latter cause you’re not her boyfriend. You don’t know her well enough. Heck, the most the both of you have is a mutual attraction which I find equally stupid. So, you can’t get upset over Sophie not telling you the truth the moment you told her about Deb/showed her the website because like she said it herself, “…’Hey Evan, I know we only just started hanging out and don’t even know each other’s birthdays or favourite movies or what we want to be when we get older, but here’s a fun little fact: I hear people whispering when no one’s there, which probably means I’m going crazy. Still want to hang out?’…”. Though, the whole scene gets stupider the moment they make up.

On top of that, I wasn’t even interested in wanting to know more about the story. I skipped some paragraphs and I even placed this book aside for a few days when usually, I’d be eagerly devouring printed words in order to know what happens till the end. This book was boring to me and the only thing I liked were the ideas for it, the cover, and the ending. No more, no less.

Rating: 1 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

