Books · Life

[Re-blog] Why I Have a Problem with Cassandra Clare & Why You Should Too.

Truly original stories are increasingly difficult to create and I can understand that, but this? I’m late to this show (I just found out after stumbling upon a series of posts on Instagram) but I’m still floored. I feel like I’ve been lied to. It’s like 50 Shades of Grey all over again and hell, at least that hadn’t been as bad as this! Yes, congratulations for a FanFiction author for being able to get published (it’s my dream and I’m sure it’s many other’s as well) but the way Clare has achieved this sickens me. I wanted to purchase her books but I wont now. The money I worked so hard to earn can go to more deserving authors, directors, editors, etc. instead. plagiarism

life & what-have-you

I have a bone to pick with Cassandra Clare.

Actually, I have a whole skeleton to pick with Cassandra Clare, but that sounds a little more excessive than is needed.

Originally, when Clare, originally known as Cassandra Claire in the Harry Potter fandom, announced she was getting a trilogy published, I was ecstatic. As a huge, longtime fan of her hilarious and in-depth Draco Trilogy, I knew I absolutely had to read the first book of her trilogy when it came out. Of course, back then, I was woefully uneducated about a lot of things. I wasn’t terribly familiar with classic television shows, and because of this (and probably because I was never fully entrenched in the Harry Potter fandom and simply flitted around the outskirts), I completely neglected to realise that everything I loved about Clare’s wonderfully written trilogy had been stolen.

Okay, technically, everything had been stolen because…

View original post 1,531 more words

Leave a Reply

