Books · Tags and Awards

The Disney Book Tag

I just came back from a chamber choir and orchestra music performance (Disney songs were part of their lineup) by my university’s Music Society two nights ago, then I see this tag is all over my reader and I couldn’t resist. It’s DISNEY, dangnabbit—50% of my childhood! So yeah, let’s roll! (「・ω・)「

**Disclaimer: All artwork belong to their respective artists. They are linked so you can check out the creator and more of their works. Simply click the image and it will open up in a new window.


THE LITTLE MERMAID – A CHARACTER WHO IS OUT OF THEIR ELEMENT, A “FISH OUT OF WATER.”

ariel_found_headphones_by_sakimichan-d5nkok8
The first character that comes in mind is perhaps not one many of you would expect, but for me, Tokyo_Ghoul_volume_1_coverthe fish flopping on dry land is definitely Kaneki Ken from Tokyo Ghoul. Seriously, all the poor boy wanted was to go on a date with his crush and instead, he ended up becoming the first half-human, half-ghoul hybrid. Talk about a big leap from his ordinary life to fighting, killing, and cannibalizing for the sake of survival. It doesn’t help that he’s being hunted by Doves (a special force) for something he didn’t have a hand in!


CINDERELLA – A CHARACTER WHO GOES THROUGH A MAJOR TRANSFORMATION.

cinderella_by_serafleur-d9phwem
My first question about this one is, “What do you mean by ‘transformation’?”. Physical? Mental? Emotional? Personality? Yes, I had a hint on what this actually implied but it wasn’t easy pinning down one character…

the braveIn the end, I chose Tom Bedford from The Brave. His transformation might not be the kind that stands out greatly but I recall how vastly his views of his heroes (cowboys) changed after his mother fell in love with the actor who played one of his favorite cowboys. He went from a boy who was simply in awe by the bravery of cowboys (who were portrayed by white men) and disliked the savageness of ‘Indians’, to a boy who understood that not all cowboys aretruly good and not all ‘Indians’ are truly bad.


SNOW WHITE – A BOOK WITH AN ECLECTIC CAST OF CHARACTERS.

snow white by escumegame-of-thronesThree bookish worlds immediately entered my mind for this one but my choice for this is definitely A Song of Ice and Fire. From fiercly independent Arya Stark, and compassionate Daenerys Targaryen to “viscous idiot” Joffrey Baratheon, and condescending and immoral Viserys Targeryen, there’s never a more diverse cast of characters that I have ever read about.


SLEEPING BEAUTY – A BOOK THAT PUT YOU TO SLEEP.

sleeping_beauty_by_charlie_bowater-d6ipsltmoby dickNever have I ever read a book more dry than Moby-Dick…Alright, to be fair, I think many classics are dry, but among the ones I have seriously read, this book takes the cake because not only is it sleep-inducing, it hurt my brain so much with all the nautical terms.


THE LION KING – A CHARACTER WHO HAD SOMETHING TRAUMATIC HAPPEN TO THEM IN CHILDHOOD.

the_king_by_christinamandy-d88202z
There’s an ocean full of characters who had traumatic childhoods and that, does not make this selection easy. However, I have to pick and my choice would be Gaara from Naruto.

naruto vol 1As a vessel of the ichibi who is mentally unstable, Gaara grew up without love. He had no friends, his siblings were afraid of him, his father viewed him as nothing more than a tool. However, he was still okay when he was a child because he had a uncle who he thought cared for him…until that uncle tried to kill him that is. That affected him so greatly that he grew up despising the world. He looked out for only himself and even justified his own existence by killing. How heartbreaking is that?!


BEAUTY AND THE BEAST – A BEAST OF A BOOK (A BIG BOOK) THAT YOU WERE INTIMIDATED BY, BUT FOUND THE STORY TO BE BEAUTIFUL.

beauty_and_the_beast_by_artofty-d362zl3Believe it or not, but the book that intimidated me was Cornelia Funke’s Inkdeath, the third and final book of the Inkheart trilogy. Not only is my edition of the book a whopping 663 pages long, but back when I first bought this, inkdeaththe title itself brought me dread. Ink-death. Death. Somebody would die and I was terrified that Dustfinger would be the one who stayed dead. So yes, it wasn’t good for my easily-broken-heart, but I do recall sobbing my eyeballs out and that Inkdeath combined with the first two books) was one of the most beautiful stories I’ve read as well.


ALADDIN – A CHARACTER WHO GETS THEIR WISH GRANTED, FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE.

aladdin_by_preilly

night roadLexi from Night Road takes this one. Her wish is to have family, friends and a home—to be loved and to love in return, and after a long time, she finally gets it. Of course, things never go smoothly in life and many obstacles spring up while she tries to keep her wish fulfilled.

 

 


MULAN – A CHARACTER WHO PRETENDS TO BE SOMETHING OR SOMEONE THEY ARE NOT.

hua_mulan_by_sakimichan-d4tn5g0looking for jjJennifer Jones from Looking for JJ wins this hands down. Forced to live under a different identity in order to live a “normal” life, Jennifer’s new identity has everything her true self, who is an infamous child killer, cannot receive/have without prejudice or outrage. Her story is one of the most heartbreaking ones I’ve ever read.


TOY STORY – A BOOK WITH CHARACTERS YOU WISH WOULD COME TO LIFE.

mondo_pixar_toystoryhaikyuuI would’ve answered Harry Potter here but that would’ve left me in the state of being unable to answer the final part of this Disney book tag. So instead, I choose Haikyuu!! for this one. After all, what’s not to like about super cute Hinata Shoyo, rather-socially-awkward Kageyama Tobio, charismatic Nishinoya Yuu, and basically, all the other characters?

 


DISNEY DESCENDANTS – YOUR FAVORITE VILLAIN OR MORALLY AMBIGUOUS CHARACTER.

cruella_by_sakimichan-d7cf7e9Three words: Professor Severus Snape.

I cannot put my love for him into exact words and if I have to write an essay, I would probably ramble constantly and go off tangent (maybe find some academic sources to support my answer as well).
But yes, I personally think he is one of the best characters in Harry Potter. harry potter and the phiHis characterization was done superbly and I love, love, love how complex he is!

PS: I couldn’t find a nice picture of Disney Descendants and decided upon using this gender-bent version of Cruella de Vil instead. He can pass off as a more posh version of Carlos de Vil, no?

 

 


SO, THOSE ARE ALL MY ANSWERS!《《o(≧◇≦)o》》

What are your answers for these questions? Do we have similar answers? I’d love to know them, along with your other thoughts so do comment below!

Oh, and of course, thank you so much for reading! ⃛♥ ヾ(๑❛ ▿ ◠๑ )

3 thoughts on “The Disney Book Tag

  1. Great post! I totally agree with you on Kaneki being put into a situation he didn’t deserve at all. 😦 Sooo much bad things happen to him, simply because he wanted to go out with a girl… I also also agree with you on Gaara – his past is seriously terrible! 😥 I can’t even imagine going through all that. (On a side note, he is one of my favourite characters from Naruto.)
    Oh a happier note – it would be freaking amazing if the Haikyuu characters came to life! 😀 Seriously that manga has soo many characters I love!

    Like

    1. Thank you! And, I know right?! Kaneki’s life just got worse and worse as the manga progresses. The poor guy can’t even catch a break!

      I’m thankful that Gaara is able to smile after befriending Naruto. He (along with just about every character in Naruto) deserves happiness so bad (Q___Q). He’s also one my favorite!

      Also, it truly would be. The cast of characters for Haikyuu!! are all so lovable and OTP-ship-able ❤ One can't even help liking the rivals of their favorite characters!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah seriously. It seems that everything bad happens to him. Poor Kaneki. 😦
        Yes! I’m sooo happy everything turned out so well for Gaara, he totally deserves it!
        I totally agree! All the characters of Haikyuu are fantastic! ❤ (And yes, also very ship-able.)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

