Books

[#1] Book Traveling Thursdays – Father’s Day

As someone who despite being super punctual in real life, I am undoubtedly late for many other things, but today, I’m not. Hurray! Thursdays are days for a weekly meme (themes are announced on the Goodreads group page) created for book bloggers by The Girl Who Read Too Much and Danielle’s Book Blog. Basically, what you do is (and I quote from TGWRTM’s blog):

“…you can write a blog post where you explain why you choose that book and choose different covers from different countries. To make it a little bit easy you are going to choose different editions of the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover.”

Exciting, no? Well, this week’s theme is Father’s Day as it’s celebrated in a couple of days in a few countries! So, a book with an awesome father figure has to be chosen for today and honestly, many of the books I’ve read have absent parents (or well, they’re simply stock characters). But, the most positively memorable one in the few I do recall is certainly Arthur Weasley from the beloved series Harry Potter! He may not be incredibly domineering or your typical Alpha Male but I love his personality—his characterization, and it was a huge relief that J.K. Rowling kept him alive (not that I’m particularly happy that Sirius Black wasn’t saved as well).

Now, without further ado, let’s look at some covers of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone!


HP1
Original, First Edition Cover

The first time I saw this cover, I actually liked the look of it. It gave off a Western cartoon-ish feel and it quite delighted me because it reminded me much of the children books I used to read. Even so, this edition doesn’t posses a cover that would be my number one favorite.


HPMalaysia
Cover from my Country (Malaysia)

I cringed. I cringed so hard when I first discovered that there are Malay versions of the Harry Potter series and I still cringe very hard when I look at it now. I don’t hate the official language of my country (Bahasa Melayu/Malaysia), but I’m not going to say that the translated versions of anything English into Malay are the best as well. (I read both the English and Malay version of The Fault in Our Stars and the latter is laughable. That’s all I can say about it.) Anyway, look at that disastrous cover!  They simply slapped on some extra stuff and edited the “Harry Potter” part of the book as well (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻

Even the Chinese and Tamil versions look better! (ノಥДಥ)ノ︵┻━┻・/


 

harry potter and the phi
Favorite Cover(s)
HPlove
Favorite Cover(s)

I love, love, love the 15th anniversary editions by Scholastic. The art for the cover, back cover and spine art are so gorgeous that I just want to own my own set! Unfortunately, the prices for them in Malaysia are insane so I’ll have to settle with looking at their pictures.

However, I also love the latest Bloomsbury editions. The art style is lovely and I can’t help smiling whenever I look at them.


HPhate
Least Favorite Cover(s)

HPhate2

Without doubt that these are are among my least favorite covers. I feel like they could’ve been better—the first one looks so fake while the second one looks like it was done with a half-assed attempt…
˚‧º·(˚ ˃̣̣̥᷄⌓˂̣̣̥᷅ )‧º·˚

 

 


 

 

And, that concludes my very first Book Traveling Thursdays!

PS: I’m still reading The Danish Girl, it’s slow going but that’s what university does. Urk.

2 thoughts on “[#1] Book Traveling Thursdays – Father’s Day

Leave a Reply

