Books

[#2] Book Traveling Thursdays – Favourite Classic

Book Travelling Thursdays (BTT) is a weekly meme with it’s own Goodreads group (where you can find more information on it), and the theme for this week is:

All of us have read Classics at some point of our life. Choose your favorite Classic.

So, without further ado, here’s one of my favorite classics!


ORIGINAL COVER

BBori

After some Googling, I found this picture of the first true edition of Black Beauty, published in  1890 by The American Humane Education Society. I’m not certain if it’s really the first edition (additional research is required on my side), though.


COVER FROM MY COUNTRY (MALAYSIA)

bbchi

I couldn’t find any Malaysian edition of Black Beauty, but since I’m a Malaysian Chinese, I chose the next best available edition instead |д꒪ͧ)…


FAVORITE COVER(S)

BByes2BByes3BByes

Black Beauty has a torrent of beautiful covers which made choosing a few very, very difficult, but these covers are the ones I ended up liking the most~ (The first one broke my heart a little, though).


LEAST FAVORITE COVER(S)

BBno

This cover is the worst once I’ve ever come across for this book. It’s as though the designer couldn’t be bothered to put in enough effort to create a pretty/appealing cover for such a beautiful book! Anyone with basic Photoshop knowledge can make the same cover within an hour, using ready-made PNGs of the horse and the book publishing company logo. I’m pretty certain that the font they used for the title and author name is from the Amatic family as well (๑′̥̥̥▵‵̥̥̥ ૂ๑)

 

Leave a Reply

