Bookish Tags · Books

Burn, Rewrite, Reread Tag

I saw this tag done by Read Forevermore last month and try I did in resisting doing tags but in the end, I simply couldn’t resist this one. It was too much fun to pass up!

THE RULES

  1. Randomly choose 3 books. (Pro-tip: use the ‘random’ option on your Goodreads read shelf)
  2. For each group, decide which book to burn, which one to rewrite, and which to reread.
  3. Repeat until you have completed three rounds.

ROUND #1

BURN: The Crucifix Killer. Bad dialogue, inconsistent speech types, Gary-Stu protagonist, a lot of telling and not enough showing, Chris Carter’s first book in the Robert Hunter Series is perhaps the worse out of all of them.

REWRITE: The Death Sculptor. Same issues as the “burn” book, Carter improves a lot by the time he wrote this book. I just wish that Robert’s less Gary-Stu and more…humanly flawed.

REREAD: Wintergirls. Read this when I was twelve, cried reading it and never succumbed to any eating disorder because this book woke me up like a wrecking ball suddenly crashing through my haven one sleepy morning.


ROUND #2

BURN: Brokeback MountainThe movie is okay…But, THE BOOK IS SO BAD! Like oh, my God, I still can’t believe that my Creative Writing lecturer said that this is one of the greatest LGBT works of all time because the writing sure as hell isn’t anywhere near great.

REWRITE: I Was Here. Clichés, romance in a book with suicide (Like helloooo, if someone I cared about took their own life, having a crush on some random dude would be the last of the last thing on my mind.), flat characters, etc. Gayle Forman disappointed me with this one, especially after how well-written If I Stay and Where She Went are.

REREAD: The Spook’s Curse. I love this entire series. It’s a part of my tween period and I remember borrowing every single book from a friend just so I could finish them all within a week.


ROUND #3

BURN: HumbugI actually like this short story! But when comparing with the other two books…I’ve no choice but to “burn” this one. There’s a lot of potential—of growing space—for Humbug as a novel. 

REWRITE: Thirteen Reasons Why. The ending. I loved every part of this book except the ending. I recall feeling very betrayed when Clay suddenly upped and went to some other girl (I know he meant to be helpful but still) near the end. Like, how can you do this to Hannah?! Grrrr.

REREAD: Vanishing Girls. One of the books that messed with my mind, leaving me in a swirling bout of conflicting emotions because I felt like I was lied to, though I still enjoyed this book.


And, here’s the end of this tag for me! What are your thoughts? Have you done this tag as well? Comment below because I’d love to know!

3 thoughts on “Burn, Rewrite, Reread Tag

    1. Ohhh, I’ll go look for yours on your blog! And, I actually realized how little books I’ve read after doing this tag so I’m half certain if I looked at yours, I’d feel the same too, ahaha (*・艸・). But yeah, this tag is a lot of fun!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

