Books · Tags and Awards

[Part Two] Burn, Rewrite, Reread Tag

I love this tag. I love it so, so much that I just have to do another post on this! It’s so incredibly fun and to whoever the creator(s) of this tag is/are, thank you so much!

THE RULES

  1. Randomly choose 3 books. (Pro-tip: use the ‘random’ option on your Goodreads read shelf)
  2. For each group, decide which book to burn, which one to rewrite, and which to reread.
  3. Repeat until you have completed three rounds.

ROUND #1

BURN: Night Owls, aka The Anatomical Shape of a Heart. So, I know I raved about this book in my review, gave it four apples even! But now that I’ve come down from the high and am thinking properly, this book could’ve been waaaaay better. I don’t really want to burn this but when compared to the value of the other two books to my person…

REWRITE: Cleo. Obviously this can be better written (sentences more beautiful and all) but hey, this is a non-fiction book and I guess that makes that point invalid? Because despite the simple sentences, I remember all those tears and smiles I had while read this back in elementary school. 

REREAD: The Brave. One of the most brilliants books I’ve ever read—I even wrote my final college paper for English 4 U (ENG4U) on it!


ROUND #2

BURN: The Crane WifeThe first book I’ve ever read by Patrick Ness and also the worst choice ever because despite the lovely idea, it’s so, so bad. Urk. My eyes.

REWRITE: Picture the Dead. I honestly don’t recall much about this book, but it was good. Not brilliant but still good.

REREAD: Heart Burn. I’m biased here but Anne Cassidy was my third ever most favorite author in high school—second when I was still in elementary school. She’s been bumped down a little because I haven’t read her newer works but she’ll always have a place in my heart.


ROUND #3

BURN: SpellsBurn this book. BURN IT. SOAK IT WITH INSECTICIDE THEN BURN IT. This is the worst book I’ve ever read. And my standards were pretty low back in elementary school. Urk, puke.

REWRITE: To Catch a Pirate. I enjoyed this book back in Form One but thinking about it right now, I’m pretty sure that it’s filled with cliches and all…

REREAD: Before I Die. I remember crying. Hard. I remember reflecting about my life. For Hours. I remember thanking my parents the next morning. Seemingly outta the blue. Yeah, that sums up how I felt about this book.


Here’s the end of this tag for me (or now)~ If you’ve done this tag before, comment below! I love to see the answers people have for this tag, and if you haven’t, do feel free to try!

5 thoughts on “[Part Two] Burn, Rewrite, Reread Tag

  1. I haven’t read any of these, and I guess I’ll stay away from the ones you want to burn 😛 OH WAIT. I’ve read Spells. I forgot haha. That’s the sequel right, not the first one? I hated the first one with a passion. I liked the sequel better, but it’s definitely not a favourite haha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes! It completely slipped my mind until you’ve mentioned it! I honestly disliked the entire series with a great passion. I hadn’t realized how bad it was when I read the first book but the second one got a huge reaction out of me, cause the girl wanted another boy badly despite already having a boyfriend? 😂😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. IKR?! Her boyfriend wasn’t all that bad too! Quite sweet in book two actually. And goodness, I didn’t know there was a book four! Much less, the fact that she got with the other guy! Definitely, major annoying main character, money not well spent 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah I didn’t understand it at all! I don’t remember him that well, but I remember being so confused as to why she would want another boyfriend lol. Haha definitely 😂 I still have them, but hopefully not for long since I’m planning on selling them. I want to get some of my money back lol

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

