Books · Tags and Awards

Book Courtship Tag

As much as I love bookish tags, I’m horrible at keeping up with the ones that I got tagged in (because I just always seem to miss the posts! Is there a way for WordPress to notify me that I got tagged? ꒰๑•̥﹏•̥๑꒱) but I didn’t miss this one! Thank you again to the lovely Michelle at The Writing Hufflepuff who tagged me, and here are my answers~


Phase One: Initial Attraction: A book you bought because of the cover

IMG_20160325_221833The Théâtre Illuminata trilogy is a complete and utter cover-buy, and I’m unashamed to say that. Honestly, look at them cover art! They’re so gorgeous (and the plot sounded so intriguing), I just had to snap up all three books in one go.

However, I have to say that I bought them in 2014…and until now, I’ve only read the first book (review here). Thinking about it now, I don’t think the first book is worth the three stars I gave because I certainly had (and continue to have) no motivation to read the other two books.


Phase Two: First Impressions: A book you got because of the summary

IMG_20160327_004000At this point of my life, pretty much every single book I get depends on how intriguing it’s summary is, along with the capacity of the first page to lure me into the story. If they fail either test, I certainly would not buy it. So, I guess the closest to a summary-only-buy I have would be All The Light We Cannot See. Although I’ve gone through a few pages after I’ve bought it, I haven’t read this entire book yet, but I can tell that it’ll be one of the most beautiful reads I’d ever complete when I do.


Phase Three: Sweet Talk: A book with great writing

IMG_20160613_003210Tough question to answer because despite picky me having few super-favorites, it’s extremely difficult to simply pick one. So, after a bout of contemplation, I’ll settle with A Thousand Splendid Suns for this one. Some have told me that this was his weakest book but as I’ve only read this book of his so far, I can’t share that opinion yet. Even so, I find Khaled Hosseini’s ability to near-seamlessly include a mass of characters in one book, paying enough attention to bring even the side characters to life, as a form of incredible writing skill.


Phase Four: First Date: A first book of a series which made you want to pursue the rest of the series

IMG_20160614_092543Named as the ‘German J.K. Rowling’ by some of her readers, Cornelia Funke is one of my most beloved authors, and to be honest, I read her books before I even read the incredibly beloved Harry Potter series (which is of course, due for a proper re-read). So yeah, when I saw Inkheart in a bookshop while on a trip in Taiwan, I had to buy it and without fail, it made me fall in love with the Inkworld. I immediately bought the other two books right after they were made available in my country.


Phase Five: Late night phone calls: A book that kept you up all night long

IMG_20160301_182110Dark, gritty and wonderfully gore-y, I borrowed this book from a friend and the moment I started reading it, I couldn’t put it down. In fact, I stayed up the whole night and right up till the hour I had to go to college the next day. Worth it, because this is one of the best Japanese crime novels I’ve ever read. It’s also hands down the best out of the three Natsuo Kirino books (OutGrostesque, and Real World) I’ve read.


Phase Six: Always on my mind: A book that you could not stop thinking about

IMG_20160329_000023Manga is always on my mind. And comics. Always. Even when I’m not reading them, or watching it’s anime/cartoon/movie adaptation, or playing it’s game version, etc. And right now, the one that I can’t stop thinking about is Captain America: Steve Rogers. I don’t have it, I refuse to read it. Why? (LOOK AWAY FROM HERE INNOCENT MARVEL FANS WHO DON’T KNOW WHY YET!) “Hail Hydra.” That’s why. No amount of fix-it fics, no amount of fanfiction can erased that line from my head. In fact, I still can’t wrap my head around it so all I can do it pray that the Marvel-Movie-verse doesn’t follow suit.


Phase Seven: Getting Physical: A book in which you love the way it feels

IMG_20160404_103618…Which is practically all the hardcover books I have, which is certainly not as many as I’d like but make do with what you have, right? Anyway, I really love hardcovers, especially ones covered with cloth! Though, for this phase, I’ll choose one and say The Paper Garden: An Artist Begins Her Life’s Work at 72It’s doesn’t have a cloth covering and the shade of orange isn’t really pleasing to the eyes, but it does have an embossed flower and I love running my fingers over it.


Phase Eight:  Meeting the Parents: A book in which you would recommend to your friends and family

IMG_20160608_230720This may be surprising to some of you, but the one book I’d recommend to my friends and family (without thinking about their preferences and such) would certainly be A Wild Sheep Chase by Haruki Murakami. It’s the third of The Rat series but you can actually just read it on it’s own. Also, I know he’s not an easy author to read, and that many people find his books seemingly plot-less/point-less/boring but Murakami has taught me to always look underneath the underneath’s underneath. He taught me that there can be complexity in simplicity and simplicity in complexity. Besides, without the existence of his books, well, I’d probably would’ve never ventured into Japanese literature, fascination for the Japanese culture or not.


Phase Nine: Thinking about the future: A book or series that you know you’ll re-read many times in the future

IMG_20160610_232439Here comes the must-have answer: Harry Potter! As I’ve stated, this series is due for a thorough and proper re-read at the current size of my sphere of comprehension. I know I certainly missed things when I read this while I was younger, and I know I’ll have “Ohhhhhh” moments when something finally clicks properly in my mind. So yes, once I’ve consumed a bit more of my TBR pile, I’ll dive back into the fantastic Potter world ❤


Phase Ten: Share the love! Here’s who I am tagging:

Alicia | Kate | Thrice Read | And Everyone Else Who Wants To Do This Tag!

Leave a Reply

