Writing

Snow White Writing : Camp NaNoWriMo July 2016

A friend I know in real life, who also knows of this WordPress’ existence, asked me earlier today:

“Why isn’t writing included? Isn’t it your passion too?”

And, I was momentarily stunned because this is the first time someone has asked me such. After the re-vamping, it has honestly never occurred to me that I could possibly joined two loves in one same website because really, I didn’t do well with a blog talking about five major aspects in my life, writing about two might not even work. But hey, there are pros and cons to everything, and I can’t be sure until I’ve tried, no?

With that said, welcome to the very first post for my weekly/monthly Snow White Writing segment where I write about my writing journey, and what better way to start than with something a great many of us know about?

NaNoWriMo—or more specifically, the July 2016 Camp NaNoWriMo session.

I have to say that this isn’t my first try at any form of NaNoWriMo, and I also have to say that I’m absolutely rubbish at it. My Inner Editor constantly refuses to be locked away in a forgotten corner of my mind, and my perfectionist tendencies just adore rearing their heads at each word I type. Every time I’ve decided to move on to a new chapter, I end up going back to the previous one and pour another day or two (or three) into ‘perfecting’ it. It gets especially frustrating when I lose my motivation somewhere along the ride too.

This time, though. This time I will work harder to ensure that I will not fail, and to make sure that my ass stays in gear, I’ve prepared a physical folder of a heck-load of writing advice from Chuck Wendig over at terribleminds. I’m not incredibly into his books, though I don’t dislike like them either, but his writing advice is a complete A+. They’ve gotten me over walls (characterization, plot development), mountains (writer’s block) and even tiny hills (writing consistency). Oh, and of course, I’ve short stories, manga chapters and a few anime/television episodes to keep my mind fresh. I’ve learned the great importance of not obsessing over my work 24/7 because doing so will only make everything sloppy.

Anyway, are you joining the July 2016 Camp NaNoWriMo session? What will you be writing? How do you overcome writing-related problems?

I’d love to hear from you in the comments!(´ω`♡%)

6 thoughts on “Snow White Writing : Camp NaNoWriMo July 2016

    1. Hello and oh my goodness, 10k words for poetry! That sounds incredibly challenging and inspiring at the same time! 😳 My username is NauticalFrost and Happy Birthday in advance! ☺☺

      Like

    1. Ohhh, is it a romance? Or simply fiction? 😀 Oh, and thank you and good luck to you too! (I certainly know that situation very well, but it’ll nevertheless be lovely to have a complete project! 😂) May the odds be ever in our favor ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. There’s romance, but also lots of friendship 🙂 probably more of the latter since I’m a sucker for it haha. Haha that’s true 😂 and if I finish this one I can focus on the other ones so fingers crossed!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

