Writing

Snow White Writing : Process and Snippets

Snow White Writing is a weekly writing segment where I write about my writing journey and share some of my works as well.

Only a mere 2.5k words on the fourth day of Camp NaNoWriMo and I know very well that I’m lagging behind. Really, I should’ve known better than to tackle the monster of all my projects for this round. I should’ve remembered that it’s a monster and that there’s a sound reason why my writing mentors and writing buddies constantly call me ambitious, but did I do so at the right moment?

Nope.

And now, I’m going to take my complaints, smush them into a ball and toss them in whatever general direction. I’m going to continue steamrolling through all of those walls!

…Hopefully.

But yes, that aside, I’m here to show you some snippets of the aforementioned WIP!

Though, do let me clarify some things first:

  1. I am extremely paranoid and protective about this monster.
    It may not seem much to you but putting these words out here freaked me out a lot (the only reason why I seem to be able to post this right now is because two whole days have actually passed from when this draft was created and my sister is the one who clicked the ‘publish’ button for me), especially since this is an ‘original/non-fanfic’ work. Although I’m very open to receiving constructive criticism, this paranoia stems from actual cases of people stealing my works (even though they were pretty horrible fanfics) and a few people flaming me on websites (because of said horrible fanfics).No, I’m not pointing fingers whatsoever here. I’ve taken those moments as challenges to better myself, but it still hurt.
  2. This project is entirely fiction.
    This whole idea (for the novel) came to me a few years ago, while I was in the midst of Canadian and International Politics class back in college, after I’ve written the original short story the prior semester for my Writer’s Craft class. At that time, I’ve watched a boat load of psychological thriller, crime and supernatural horror movies/anime/shows, and read multiple books of the same genres as well. I’ve drawn inspirations from many of my favorite things and some of the characters do share traits with actual people I know, but yes, this project is completely fiction.
  3. To the people with triggers, (possible?) TRIGGER WARNING.
    Although not exactly revealed in detail in the below snippets, there is cannibalism, murder, and a lot of dark things in this project of mine. My current Creative Writing lecturer hates it when we write about “things [we] don’t know” because she’s certain we’ll butcher them. However, my previous Creative Writing lecturer (college) was incredibly supportive this idea and always wanted to read what I could write. Thus, the probable reason why half or more of those “forbidden things” are included in here as a challenge for myself.

Now, without further ado, let’s get down to business!

predormitum snippet
This is an extract from the original short story I wrote back in college for one of my Writer’s Craft assignments.

Aside from the reasons I’ve already mentioned, the positive feedback and reader-response I’ve gotten for this short story is definitely one of the biggest reasons why I decided to go ahead and turn it into a novel. It’s been more than two years and I’ve already done three (including this current one) re-writes for the starting of the novel because it still doesn’t sound right…

WIP snippet
From Chapter One of my current WIP.
WIP snippet2
Also from Chapter One of my current WIP

I’ve really struggled (and continue to) with the words to make this novel as engaging/less draggy as possible. I’ve been told that my writing can be detached/clinical, especially when I’m very concerned about the “perfection” of a work, so yeah, working on that issue.

And, there you have it!

Have you faced difficulties when writing? Perhaps gone through the same experiences as I have?

All the best to everyone who’s writing, and to those in Camp NaNoWriMo for this July as well!

2 thoughts on “Snow White Writing : Process and Snippets

  1. Oooh I really enjoyed your snippets! Good luck 🙂 I totally understand your paranoia. I never share too much and the snippets I share don’t say TOO much about the project, so it’s harder to steal the idea if that makes sense

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! And, I know right? I tried taking the vague road but it just seems that I’m being incredibly descriptive about every scene for this draft so yeah, major paranoia 😅

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

