Bookish Tags · Books

The Pokemon Go Book Tag

Do you Po-Go? ‘Cause I Po-Go ⌒°(❛ᴗ❛)°⌒

…Okay, that sounded a little wrong. Aha, but never mind! This brilliant tag was created by Aentee at Read at Midnight and while the Po-Go bug hasn’t bitten me as badly as it did to many others, Pokémon was a huge part of my childhood (and I’m still obsessed with Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Time).

Now, onwards!


pokemon-tag-01starters

I’m not certain which book it was since I read these two around the same time but yeah, it was either Black Beauty or Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland that started everything for me.

(I also went through this whole insane Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland phase for more or less, the next ten years, haha. That period held some of my most favourite and ridiculously embarrassing moment ever.)

pokemon-tag02pikachu

The two classics I’ve already mentioned are definitely some of the iconic classics that I’ll always love, but another one that I hold close to my heart is Hans Christian Andersen’s The Little Mermaid. Like many girls, I dreamt of being a mermaid and without fail, I would pretend to be one after swimming lessons in the public pool. However, my then-huge fear of drowning suddenly kicked in and that dream got wiped away. Even so, I do love The Little Mermaid, and I can’t stop crying every time I read it.

pokemon-tag-03-zubat

Zubats (and Golbats), oh how much I dislike them in Po-Go. They’re just so bloody difficult to catch! And yes, I’m looking at you, VespertilioYou cost me 20 pokeballs, grr…

Anyway,the answer for this one would be the Throne of Glass series. I see it all over my bookstagram feed, admire the lovely covers and pictures, and sometimes, I feel a tinge of desire to read it, but it’s been a year and it’s still everywhere and I just…lost interest. Urk.

pokemon-tag-04-ditto

A Hollywood Ending by Robyn Sisman. It’s cliched. It’s chick-lit/cotton candy for the brain. But, I just can’t help loving it. It’s just so…so…asdfghjk.

pokemon-tag-05-snorlax

Believe me, I want to start reading this but I keep getting the feeling that at least some degree of my life would change when I read and after I finish The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, and I just can’t handle that right now. Really, that possibility alone is scary, but add the fact that my copy is 584 pages long? *gulp*

pokemon-tag06-gengar

I’ve learnt to pace my books and moderation in reading and all these past few years since college/uni can be really demanding, but the last book that kept me up at night is Out by Natsuo Kirino. I read that till the early A.M. and had to reread it immediately afterwards because my brain needed to re-cement what it brained.

pokemon-tag07-nidokingqueen

Oh, no, no, no, one does not simply state a singular bookish OTP. Therefore, have a quarter of my Top Bookish OTPs list where ships are arranged in no particular order whatsoever, though they’re mainly Harry Potter and Marvel.

Drarry
Stony // Super Husbands
WinterHawk
Cherik
Stark Spangled Winter (Hawk)
Spideypool
Black Hulk // Brutasha
Romione
Spider Marvel // Cassica
Scorbus
Lexi/Zach // Zexi (from Night Road)
Scarlet Vision

Should we share the same OTPs, let us marvel and ramble about their beauty together (Q___Q) ♥♥

pokemon-tag08-rapidash

All The Rage definitely made me feel as much rage as I could possibly feel towards Romy’s situation and all the other similar ones in real life and not. I couldn’t put this book down, I couldn’t not feel the emotions trapped within the words. Rape happens to all genders and sexes. It happens to animals, it happens to humans. For this book, Courtney Summers has once again, shown her knack for breathing humanity into what many consider as unlikable characters.

pokemon-tag09-eevee

As much as I don’t want another book to the Harry Potter series now that Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is out, I would actually love reading more about the Potter world. I’m super excited for both Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay and it’s movie!

pokemon-tag14-magikarp

The ‘lame’ Magikarp that evolves into the awesome Gyarados, ah, a book like such would certainly be The Girl On The Train. With all the rather negative reviews I’ve read for this book, I had expected it to be bad—like make-myself-bald-shred-this-book-and-burn-it bad. Fortunately, I decided to read it anyway and ended up enjoying the book very much.

pokemon-tag12-legendary

The Shades of Magic series by V. E. Schwab for sure. I have the first book, I haven’t bought the second book, and that third book will be here in 2017. Once I have the second book, or if ADSOM becomes either one of the top 3 voted books in my September Make Me Read poll, I will begin this series! Grrrr.

pokemon-tag15mew-mewtwo

I’m not sure if this is counted as a collector’s edition (what is defined as “collector’s edition”, actually?), but I really, really wish I own a copy of Kincső Nagy‘s version of the Harry Potter books. Her designs for the series are just out of this world, seriously, check them out here.

…But, if no publishing company snaps up her designs, I guess I’ll beg my sister to team up with me to make my own version~ (Do any of you have siblings who are not Potterheads? And they just simply don’t understand why you love the Potter world so much?)

pokemon-tag10-egg

By the stars, the sun and the moon, the one debut novel I just cannot not be excited about is Stephanie Garber’s Caraval! It reminds me greatly of the novel I plotted and tried to write when I was a teenager (I failed, though), and I’m super stoked to read what Garber wrote. In a way, it’s like an indirect dream come true???

pokemon-tag11-lure-module

Oh this one is easy, Courtney Summers all the way. I never thought that she would be one of my few auto-buy authors but somehow, along the timeline of me reading her books, she just sneaked into the list all ninja-like and I never noticed until very recently.

pokemon-tag13-server-down

Can we get an official book from J.K. Rowling on the Marauders’, Lily’s and Severus’ time in Hogwarts?  From their first to the final year? And, I’m pretty certain that Narcissa and Lucius are Fourth or Fifth years during the Marauders’, Lily’s and Severus’ first year there. It’ll be really interesting to read on the events that took place during that era!


I TAG…

Some of my newest followers! Thank you all so, so much for following me! ♥♥♥

Carynn @ The Reading Berry
Emma @ llady literary
The Captain @ Captain’s Quarters
Anna @ Space Cats and Books
Lynn @ Castle On The Sea
Maja @ Maya The Book Explorer
Asiya and Marcela @ Georgiana Darcy’s Reading List

And of course, you! Should you want to do this tag, feel free too! ʚ♡⃛ɞ(ू•ᴗ•ू❁)

Leave a Reply

