Books

Mini Reviews – Books I DNFed

Have you ever had a book you tried your best to complete but just couldn’t pull through no matter the amount of pages you force yourself to read? Well, I’m the kind who dislikes leaving a book unfinished—especially when I’m at 10% of the book—but when the time calls for it, I have no choice. These are the books I DNFed and my reviews up to the point I stopped reading:


18517591Rumor Has It by Elisabeth Grace
Series: Limelight, #1
Published: 2013 by Elisabeth Grace
Genre(s): New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 308
Format: Kindle
ASIN: B00H28ZM8I
Goodreads
Amazon

DNFed at Page 37.

This book is almost a perfect embodiment—a representative of all the books I stopped reading when I was seventeen because the writing and the plots no longer tickle my fancy and they end up irritating me more often than not. So why did I pick this book up? Well, it’s because sometimes I do still long for some ‘junk food’ for the brain but alas, this book isn’t the one. My first issue started with the first chapter itself. Now, due to the lack of proper details, I’m assuming that Ellie’s “pie” does not have whipped cream covering it’s nakedness which leads to the question of how did this video of her pie go viral on YouTube in the first place? Isn’t YouTube anal about videos with nudity and sexual content even back in 2013? Questions, questions. Also, why does Ellie sound like a stereotypical teenager? Why does her narrative sound like she’s a whiny, immature brat? Then, cue the first cliched plot point and boom, this book now sounds like one of those Wattpad stories I read as a tween. Sure, there can be NA novels with a main character who acts like a 13 year old kid but then, there are YA novels with a main character who acts way beyond her/his years. So, why can’t Ellie sound like a reasonable not-brat?

Anyway, the rest of everything I read is too cliched for my liking. Ellie falls through a window (wow!) and meets hot celebrity Mason (Wow!) and suddenly, insta-love! (WOW!) Like come on, I can already see where this book is going and just, no. No more.


10111912Even the Dogs by Jon McGregor
Published: 2011 by Bloomsbury UK
Genre(s): Fiction, Contemporary
Pages: 195
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9781408809471
Goodreads
Amazon

DNFed at Page 32.

There’s a review that sums this book up (and all the pages that I read) perfectly on Goodreads and it’s perfect. If you read it, you get a glimpse of this entire novel, and then you’ll know how tedious this book really is. Seriously, I give it an A for a writing style that’s rather creative, and I do love the imagery McGregor weaves into this story, but everything else is such a mess that I give up putting effort into dissecting this book. Maybe I’ll give it another go after I’ve graduated from university because I’m already dissecting enough books like Even the Dogs ,and I just don’t want to do any more of that right now.


It has taken me months before I’ve decided to throw in the towel for both of these books. I started Even the Dogs in August 2016, and Rumor Has It in October 2016.

HAVE YOU DNFED A BOOK RECENTLY? OR READ A BOOK THAT JUST COULDN’T KEEP YOUR ATTENTION/INTEREST? I HOPE NOT BUT IF YES, LET ME KNOW IN THE COMMENTS.

aria-ding

BOOKSTAGRAM | GOODREADS | SIX WORD MEMOIRS |

Leave a Reply

