Bookish Tags · Books

The Beauty and The Beast Book Tag

Hello everyone! It’s been a while since my last bookish tag so I decided to trawl through blogs in order to find one to do, and decided to do The Beauty and The Beast Book Tag ’cause hey, the live action movie will be released this year, no?

Rules
  • Thank the person who tagged you.
  • Mention the creator → Kirsty @ Kirsty and the Cat Read.
  • Match a book to each of the songs/characters below.
  • Tag as many people as you like.

“TALE AS OLD AS TIME”A POPULAR THEME, TROPE OR SETTING YOU WILL NEVER GET BORED OF READING

The trope where the main character simultaneously has everything and nothing because I love myself a delightful, tear-filled Hagrid-worthy mug of angst. Also, I think that most of the characters belonging to this trope have more depth to them—especially when their creators have written and developed them right.


BELLE – A BOOK YOUR BOUGHT FOR IT’S BEAUTIFUL COVER THAT’S JUST AS BEAUTIFUL INSIDE TOO

les-misThis gorgeous book broke my heart into uncountable little pieces. I never should have watched Les Misérables the 2012 film while reading Les Misérables the book. All that I felt was twice more than all that I would’ve felt when only reading/watching either one of them.

…But, if I would rewind time and have the chance to change my mind, I wouldn’t because twice the emotion was a great and satisfying journey—resultant cold from bawling my eyes out aside, of course.


BEASTA BOOK YOU DIDN’T EXPECT MUCH FROM BUT PLEASANTLY SURPRISED YOU

vulgar-remediesI admit, I’m a bit of a snob when it comes to poetry (as you’ve probably deduced from my reviews on some collections of poetry) so when I picked up Vulgar Remedies by Anna Journey, I wasn’t expecting anything. I had zero positive expectations and about ten negative ones because of the mainstream “poetry” that’s out there now. However, when I did read this collection, I was pleasantly surprised and supremely thrilled because holy smokes, I’VE FINALLY FOUND A CONTEMPORARY POET THAT I LOVE. Interesting imagery, unique diction and topics other than romantic/sexual love—Anna Journey is like a gift from poetry heaven.


GASTONA BOOK EVERYONE LOVES THAT YOU DON’T

29431081Oh boy, there’s a bunch of them for this one but the latest one with the lowest rating I’ve given would be The Universe of Us by Lang Leav. I mentioned earlier that I’m a poetry snob, and by now you may have pieced together that this book is one of them mainstream “poetry” that I hate. For me, there just wasn’t anything new or even remotely fresh in The Universe of Us. In fact, I was thinking that how almost anyone could’ve written the poems Leav wrote in this collection the majority of the time I was reading it.

If you’re curious, you can read my review right over here.


LEFOUA LOYAL SIDEKICK YOU CAN’T HELP BUT LOVE MORE THAN THEIR COUNTER PART

the-executioner

I’ve already mentioned this in my review of The Executioner, but yeah, after six Robert Hunter books, I definitely like Carlos Garcia more than Robert Hunter. I mean, I like Robert Hunter too but I feel that Carlos is just better developed as a character than Robert.


MRS. POTT, CHIP, LUMIER & COGSWORTHA BOOK THAT HELPED YOU THROUGH A DIFFICULT TIME OR THAT TAUGHT YOU SOMETHING VALUABLE

wallflowerThe Perks of Being a Wallflower taught me that sometimes, you should be a participant—that you should take a step back and become part of the background so that you’ll be able to gain a different perspective of things.

This lesson definitely helped me out in a bunch of situations, even in ones where I didn’t initially think viewing things like such would be helpful.


“SOMETHING THERE” – A BOOK OR A SERIES THAT YOU WEREN’T INTO AT FIRST BUT PICKED UP TOWARDS THE END

There are few stories (book, short stories and series alike) that are like this for me. Generally, it’s the opposite because I pick my books based on cover, summary, and first line/page/chapter. The last one is especially important since I’m always less inclined to read a book if it can’t capture my attention in the first round. So yeah, I don’t actually have an answer for this one.


“BE OUR GUEST” – A FICTIONAL CHARACTER YOU’D LOVE TO HAVE OVER FOR DINNER

One. Just one??? Ugh…then I pick Severus Snape. Always.

(Harry Potter) Always


I TAG…

| MICHELLE | ALICIA ASIYA & MARCELA | ANNA |

AND ANYONE WHO WANTS TO DO THIS.

Until next time folks!

aria-ding

BOOKSTAGRAM | GOODREADS | SIX WORD MEMOIRS | ALL POETRY |

4 thoughts on “The Beauty and The Beast Book Tag

    1. You’re welcome and thanks! ❤ Les Mis is worth the 1200+ pages, I never thought I’d ever read a book that thick but after everything, I’m so glad I did. I hope you’ll like it too! 🙂

      Like

  1. I adore The Perks of Being a Wallflower, it’s definitely one of my favourite books and one that taught me a lot. Especially since I read it at the beginning of my high school life and could relate to most of the characters in it. 🙂
    I love the 2012 movie of Les Misérables, it’s the only movie that makes me cry every time I watch it. I haven’t even started the book though…I’m going to be honest and say that I’m very intimidated by it, since it’s very long and I expect very emotional. I’m glad to see that you loved it though! And hopefully I’ll be reading it in the future as well.
    Thank you for tagging me! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh! I read it during high school too! Though, I didn’t realize that I should actually take some of the lessons into account until later.
      I feel the same about the movie too—the first sight of Jean in the beginning is enough to set off my waterworks now. And yes, I was rather intimidated by the book too, hence why I read it while watching the movie. It helped quite a bit with my reading process since I don’t like constantly pausing my shows and I needed to read quick enough to catch up with the movie 😅
      Also, you’re welcome! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

