Books

Monthly Wrap-Up : January 2017

Happy 31st of January 2017!

How has this month treated you? Is 2017 going well thus far? Mine has been pretty nice despite coming down with the cold twice in a row (those who follow my bookstagram or have read my The Beast and The Beast Book Tag post may be aware of the reason that caused me to fall sick the first time) 。+゜(๑˃́ꇴ˂̀๑)。+゜

Anyway, in the month of January…


BOOKS READ

january-books-read

There’s one non-fiction, two collections of poetry, one new adult, one fiction, one classic, two young adult, one mystery/crime/thriller/suspense, and seven comic books—which adds up to 16 books in total, woohoo! And yes, this is also my progress on my 2017 Goodreads Reading Challenge. (I know, the comic books [and manga] are like cheats, but I’m addicted to keeping track on every book I’ve read and I can’t stop reading comics so…can’t do anything much about that σ(´し_`〃)ゞ )


BOOKS I’VE REVIEWED
  1. Rumor Has It – Elisabeth Grace [DNFed, Mini Review]
  2. Even the Dogs – Jon McGregor [DNFed, Mini Review]
  3. The Executioner – Chris Carter {3.5⋆}Some
  4. the princess saves herself in this one – Amanda Lovelace {0.5⋆}
  5. But I Love Him – Amanda Grace {2⋆}

(Click on the links above to read my reviews.)

img_20161004_134049As you can see, I’ve DNFed two books. Perhaps when I’m in a suitable mood, I’d go back and actually read them till the end, but for now, I still have no inclination to do so.

On the other hand, the best book I’ve read in this month is Chris Carter’s The Executioner while the worst is Amanda Lovelace’s collection of poetry titled the princess saves herself in this one. You may already be aware of this but Chris Carter is my favorite crime fiction writer. I absolutely love the criminals he writes! The details he includes and all that gore and macabre—if you’re into crime/thriller/suspense/mystery novels with all of that, do try reading one of Carter’s books!

As for the winner of the 2016 Goodreads Reader’s Choice Awards for Poetry…well, despite the difficult topics it touches upon, I still stand by my opinion that it’s “poetry”,  not poetry. However, if you’re into super tumblr quotes, it may be your cup of tea.


BOOK TAGS AND OTHER PUBLISHED POSTS

2016-wrap-up

I’ve five other posts that are not reviews which I’ve published this month. The first among them is my Wrap-Up post on 2016 where I rambled (as always), babbled (as always as well) and talked about my progress for all the reading challenges that I participated in that year.

The next are two bookish tags:

Click on the links to read my post on The Beauty and The Beast Book Tag, and the My Life in Books Book Tag.

Aside from that, I wrote a post on the upcoming World Bookmark Day (WOBODA) and the super fun activities that they are holding. Do check out my post if you’d like to know more about this bookish day and if can join, do join! We need more bookish days, and the more the merrier, no? (*’∀’人)♥

woboda

And last but not least, I finally published a new post for my Let’s Read! for Soundless by Richelle Mead.

Let's Read! Banner

It has taken me far longer than it should’ve but I will diligently finish this book so that we can move on to the next one together. Where’s the fun when one dwells too long in something, especially when losing interest in inevitable, no?


WHAT BOOKS HAVE YOU READ AND/OR REVIEWED THIS MONTH? HAVE YOU DONE A WRAP-UP POST AS WELL? LET ME KNOW IN THE COMMENTS! ❤

aria-ding

BOOKSTAGRAM | GOODREADS | SIX WORD MEMOIRS | ALL POETRY |

Leave a Reply

