Writing

Snow White Writing : Cracked Hearts – A Poem

Snow White Writing is a writing segment where I write about my writing journey and share some of my works as well.

Hello~

Today, I bring you another recent poem that I’ve written. It’s a bit cliche but I wrote this as practice since I’ve been leaning towards spoken word poetry lately and I’ve to write 120 lines of poetry for my upcoming third year dissertation! (The alternative is to write a short story worth 4.5k words but I think poetry is less anxiety-inducing at the moment, urk.) Anyway, I’ve been playing around with phonaesthetic devices of poetry (alliteration, consonance, etc.) so they’re pretty evident here. Other than that, constructive criticism is always welcomed!

NOTE: This work belongs to me. Please do not steal, copy, etc. Sharing (please inform me when you do so) is fine as long as you link back to this WordPress and include my name.

This poem can also be found on my All Poetry account.


CRACKED HEARTS

I keep my cracked hearts crushed
together inside an iron jar where coercion
is synonymous to glue and casualties

can be fixed through bull-headed
resolution, never mind that they have
become powder and toxic—never mind

that I should take care of them better
because I’ll run out of replacements soon
enough but that’s not my main issue for

as long as devil-headed boys and girls
look my way, I’ll let them build nests
inside my heart and when they take flight,

I’ll sweep away the pieces with knowing
hands and add another level into my iron
jar, never mind that it’ll rust and flood

my hardwood floors when the bottom
gives away—never mind that I only
have one more heart left.


HAVE YOU READ/LISTENED TO ANY GOOD SPOKEN WORD POETRY LATELY? OR WRITTEN SOME YOURSELF AND SHARED THEM ONLINE? COMMENT BELOW, I’D LOVE TO KNOW!

aria-ding

BOOKSTAGRAM | GOODREADS | SIX WORD MEMOIRS | ALL POETRY |

Leave a Reply

