Books

End of the Month Book Haul!

It feels like it’s been forever since I’ve a book haul (Well, it’s only been more or less three months since I last posted about a book haul but that can still count as forever, right? Right?), especially a book haul this big. Like wow, Aria, did you think about how much money you’re spending???

hahaha no

And now, I’m broke but it’s worth it. Totally worth it. I don’t recommend spending money mindlessly, though. Definitely don’t do it. I certainly (*cough*maybe*cough*) won’t do it ever again.

…Though, I am proud that I had that much time between spending this insane amount of money for a haul again. I have terrible impulse control when it comes to books and things I’m excited about/set on. Seriously. I’ve gotten into a multitude of embarrassing and painful situations because of that, urk. Remember when I shared about that time my silly child-self tossed a half-brick up into the air and I got a forever mishappened head because it came down on it? Yeah, that came from poor impulse control. Kid me really wanted to juggle that half-brick that time, believing that it’ll be super cool. Also, kid me was incredibly flexible and one time, I had to bend backwards to stave off boredom. So, I did. My head was super close to the cement floor and kid friend appeared at the wrong time, scared me and I landed on my head. Of course, I promptly burst into tears and I’m pretty sure I traumatized that friend 😂

Also, fellow Malaysians, the new KADS1M may seem annoying (look at all the extra procedures we gotta follow!) but it’s technically ‘free’ money (always a good incentive) and you’ll get an additional 10% discount (an AWESOME incentive) when buying books from major bookstores too (or well, MPH and Kinokuniya only as far as I know). Without it, I’d only be able to dream of spending the amount I did (it’s not pretty) for this haul, ahahaha…So yeah, apply for the KADS1M if you haven’t!

Now, back to the main point, my haul!

Processed with VSCO with  preset
There’s a total of 15 books here, woohoo!!

I bought each and everyone of these books in four days, starting from the 26th of May. Thus, due to my buying the aforementioned books on different days, you may have already noticed that I’ve already reviewed one of the books (Diary of an Oxygen Thief) above a few days ago (It sucked me into it’s rabbit hole, I tell ya!).

Here’s a clearer look on the books I’ve bought:

Processed with VSCO with  preset

There’s…

  1. About Grace by Anthony Doerr
  2. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
  3. Diary of an Oxygen Thief by Anonymous
  4. Chameleon in a Candy Store by Anonymous
  5. The Cruelty by Scott Bergstrom
  6. We Are Okay by Nina LaCour
  7. Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? by Edward Albee
  8. Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien
  9. Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde
  10. Salvage by Karen David
  11. Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige
  12. Violent Ends by Shaun David Hutchinson and various other authors.
  13. The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden
  14. Ink by Alice Broadway
  15. Antisocial by Jillian Blake

I’m super excited to start reading all of them (and everything else in my TBR pile). Hopefully, I’ll be able to decrease the triple digits of my TBR pile to double digits or lesser 😂


Have you read any of the books in my haul already? If yes, what are your thoughts on them? If not, are there any you’re excited about? Let me know in the comments!

aria-ding

BOOKSTAGRAM | GOODREADS | SIX WORD MEMOIRS|

8 thoughts on “End of the Month Book Haul!

    1. I’m glad to hear that!! Now I’m even more eager to read it 😀

      Also, no need to apologize! I’d be curious too 😂 The KADS1M is a debit card that allows the holder to spend RM250 credited (once every academic year) by the government to the holder’s account. It’s financial aid for students pursuing higher education, meant for the purchasing of books or stationary. The KADS1M replaced the RM250 book vouchers the government used to give 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

