Life · Lists

5 Ways to Beat Reader’s Block

Hey all!

A reading slump—or what I’d like to call a ‘reader’s block’ when I’m having a brain fart—is a common “condition” (the Google Gods have defined writer’s block as a condition so a reader’s block must be the same!) readers face. It can be long-term or short-term but whatever-term it is, it’s terrible. I hate it when I can’t find the will to read a book, particularly when my TBR pile just keeps growing and growing (curse you terrible impulse control! Q(`⌒´Q) ) while the Read pile just stays stagnant.

So, here are 5 ways I utilize to beat reader’s block! Hopefully, you’ll find at least one of them helpful as well (˘ʃƪ˘)


1. FIND A LARGE WOODEN STICK CAUSE WE GON’ BEAT IT, YO

caea20dea246bc55fb54d6d0c615f78c

…Just kidding. SWHA does not condone real life violence, nope. No siree! BUT, we do need a metaphorical stick to threaten us. I find assigned reading with set deadlines a good stick to beat my arse into reading. Graded assignments and perfectionism make a good motivational combo as well since ya know, there ain’t no guarantee that you’ll find a paper doing the same topic and texts as you. However, if you’re not a student or if you’re currently on break, this can be tough to obtain. When this happens, I ask a friend/family member to choose a book for me and have him/her give me a short, non-negotiable deadline. It may feel like a chore in the beginning (it usually does for me) but sooner or later, you’ll get your groove back.

2. CONSUME JUNK FOOD

scooby doo

Junk food for the mind, that is. For me, this would be contemporary romance/YA/NA novels and fan-fiction. Of course, I’m not saying that these genres have no value or anything like that, but I call them ‘junk food’ simply because they’re addicting no matter how cliche or filled-with-tropes they can be. Reading them usually gets me out of my funk because I know that reading for the sake of pure enjoyment. In other words, indulge in your guilty (or not) reading pleasure.

3. WOO YOURSELF WITH MUSIC

cinderella twirl

Music is great for getting oneself in the mood. You don’t need to have a playlist or a specific song but it may ease the process and lessen the amount of time spent on searching for songs. I love listening to Tchaikovsky, Alan Silvestri, Alexandre Desplat, Jóhann Jóhannsson, instrumental covers of songs and more when I read, write and study. Sometimes, it’s because of the feelings that I get from songs, that I just have to read or write something down!

4. TAKE A GUILT TRIP

tumblr_lu9o5s2mar1qa19ja

…to the library. I don’t know about you but every time I go to the library, I find myself being 100Xs more motivation to read, study and/or write. Of course, I procrastinate now and then, but I definitely get better results being in a library than anywhere else.

5. TRASH TALK WITH SOMEONE

really-animated-gif

I know, this sounds terrible and it’s mean (one man’s meat is another man’s poison, after all) but at some point of our lives, most of us have indulged in some Mean Girl moments. Trash talking (debates work too) gives an odd trill and some of us definitely get worked up over the subject we’re trash talking. So yeah, you use these emotions to spur yourself into reading something ‘better’ just to prove a point.


How do you overcome a reader’s block? Comment below cause I’d love to know (a reader’s gotta find new ways to keep ’em reader blocks away, after all)! ❤

aria-ding

BOOKSTAGRAM | GOODREADS | SIX WORD MEMOIRS |

4 thoughts on “5 Ways to Beat Reader’s Block

  1. Aria, I need this post! Cause im really on reading block now. Argh its killing me but your post soothe my panic a bit and great idea you have to visit library. Library got its own reason to urge the reading spirit. Thank you! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad this post is of some help to you! ❤ Reading slumps always suck and the library is definitely a wonderful place. I hope you get your reading groove back soon ❤ ❤

      Like

  2. Reading blocks are seriously the worst and I don’t know what to do when I’m in one! I usually just take a pause from reading and hope that I will be in the mood to read soon after that. 🙂 I just got out of my biggest block ever and I’m beyond happy about that. Great post! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks!! And, ikr? I used to try and wait for the mood to come back but my last reading slump took 2 months and that was just too long for me 😂 I’m super happy that you’ve gotten out of your reading slump as well ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

