Tags and Awards

The Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag #2

The last time I did this tag was last year, on the 21st of July. It’s already past the 21st in 2017 (sorry, I really didn’t mean to disappear from here OTL) but this post being posted on the same month is close enough, yes? 😂

Anyway, I was tagged by two lovely people, the first being Nadwa @Painfully Fictional and the second being Joana @bookneeders (THANK YOU BOTH SO MUCH! ❤). I’m super excited because TAGS (*hint*if you need to tag someone, I’m your girl. Seriously, Ilovedoingtagssosomuch*hint*).

On to my answers!


1. BEST BOOK YOU’VE READ SO FAR IN 2017?

IMG_20170321_153952_768

Between the Notes by Sharon Huss Roat!! It’s hands down the BEST CLICHED BOOK I’ve read in years. Seriously, the characters. The emotions. They. Are. LOVE. I just—uhhh, this probably isn’t the post for me to gush at length about this book again but if you’d like to know more of the things I love about it, do check out my review!

2. BEST SEQUEL OF 2017 SO FAR?
IMG_20170320_122052_856

Last year, I skipped this question because I didn’t read any sequels. At all.

This year, I have an answer and that answer is I Am Death by Chris Carter! It’s the follow-up of Detective Robert Hunter’s life/job after An Evil Mind and I love this book (and the entire series overall) as well😂

You can read my review here.

3. NEW RELEASE YOU HAVEN’T READ YET, BUT WANT TO?

IMG_20170603_091013_972

Excuse the burgers, but you see that book beside them? Yeah, that’s the new release that I haven’t read yet but I’m dying to. It’s just that I don’t want to bawl my eyes out yet. Or have my heart broken. Or simply just be overwhelmed by emotions, which I will be since I got loads of feels from reading that spectacular sneak peek. Yeah.

4. MOST ANTICIPATED RELEASE OF THE SECOND HALF OF 2017?

30239341

How to Disappear by Sharon Huss Roat because her book that I mentioned for (1), which is also her debut novel, is just damn good. Finger crossed that this upcoming book will be just as good!

5. BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT?

img_20170122_141131_052

That
“poetry” collection
right
over there.
The one with
the black
cover and
white text.
Biggest.
Disappointment.
Ever.
Seriously.

Review over here for my reasons why I deem it not poetry, but “poetry”.

6. BIGGEST SURPRISE?

13105535

I read this play for class, didn’t expect it to be as good as the lecturer claimed that it’ll be since my literary tastes and the lecturer’s literary taste differ by several miles. And well, let’s just say I cried. Really hard. While reading this play.

Mini review over here.

7. FAVORITE NEW AUTHOR (DEBUT OR NEW TO YOU)? 

My requirements for an author to become a favorite of mine is for me to like at least 70% of their works so yeah, I don’t have any new favorites yet, ahahaha…

8. NEWEST FICTIONAL CRUSH?

shika sighs

That boy up there ^ I mean, I pretty much crush on 90% of the characters in NARUTO but Shikamaru’s pretty new. Kinda. Sorta.

9. NEWEST FAVORITE CHARACTER?

gavroche

This little boy. His death hit me the hardest, especially after I realized that the things he can/does symbolize.

10. BOOK THAT MADE YOU CRY?

24941198

I’ve read a lot of emotional books so far this year (it’s not because I cry easily, it’s not!) so eyes looking at this section right now, meet a book filled with tear-jerking stories.

11. BOOK THAT MADE YOU HAPPY?

IMG_20170609_113956_448

That beauty right there made me super happy ’cause obviously #ProudHufflepuff and the trip down this memory lane is always great!

12. FAVORITE BOOK TO MOVIE ADAPTATION YOU’VE SEEN THIS YEAR?

maxresdefault (1)

Does manga-to-movie count? Of course it does, so here’s my (perhaps surprising) answer: Ghost in the Shell. Controversies aside, I thought the movie was pretty good. I admit that I’ve no positive expectations when it comes to manga-to-movie adaptations (Dragonball: EvolutionAttack on Titans? Netflix’s Death Note? *shudders*) but the cinematography is brilliant. Although the script is lacking in certain departments, this adaptation is still one of the better manga-to-movie adaptations I’ve seen a while.

13. FAVORITE REVIEW YOU’VE WRITTEN THIS YEAR?

Err…I don’t actually have a favorite? Or any favorites for that matter… 😅

14. MOST BEAUTIFUL BOOK THAT YOU BOUGHT/RECEIVED THIS YEAR?

img_20170204_124057_109

This one for sure. I’ve placed this book aside since I lost interest (I’ll definitely finish reading this and write an extensive review, though. Can’t let my notes go to waste!) but as many of you may already know, under Carve the Mark‘s dust jacket is a gorgeous engraved cover. Combining this and the fact that one of my favorite colors is blue, this book is 100% one that I can’t stop running my fingers over.

15. WHAT BOOKS DO YOU NEED TO READ BY THE END OF THE YEAR?

Uh, everything?

tenor


I TAG THESE AWESOME BLOGGERS
(WHOSE SITES YOU SHOULD DEFINITELY CHECK OUT!)…

| Savanna | Ashleigh | Aurora | TaylorLillianMandyStephanie |

And everyone who hasn’t don’t this yet, but want to! ❤

Also, as always, thank you so much for reading! Until next time everyone~

aria-ding

BOOKSTAGRAM GOODREADS | SIX WORD MEMOIRS |

13 thoughts on “The Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag #2

  1. Loved reading your answers! I loved how you compared this year and last year as well. We Are Okay was such a good book, and you’re totally going to go through the emotional ringer on it but it will so be worth it. XD Also, I so added Between to my TBR, because I love me some cliched books – when they’re done right. And after reading your review, it totally sounds like they are. Thanks so much for tagging me!! I sadly already did this one this year, but I really appreciate it! ❤ Also, good to know you love being tagged because I'm a bit at a loss of how to tag lately. XD Wonderful post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oops! XD I should’ve checked before tagging you but still, your blog definitely deserves to be checked out by everyone ❤ Also, thank you and woohoo!! I’m gonna brace myself and tackle We Are Okay once I’m done with two of my current reads (I can’t put it away any longer now that you’ve written that it’s good too!). Between the Notes is definitely worth a read for sure and yes, tag me if you ever find yourself at a loss
      on who to tag! XD ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ahaha, awh, thank you! ❤ I try to do it but it gets so hard to check. But yessssss. Definitely need to brace yourself before you check it out, but you will totally be glad that you did. And ooooh, super excited for it now!! That cover is super cool as well. But okie dokie! I definitely will. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG, I stopped everything as soon as I saw Shikamaru and run to the comments!! OMG OMG I LOVE HIM!! 😍 He is one of the best freaking characters!! Ahhh so happy to see someone showing some love to him! 😍*Back to read the rest of the post*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Okay… now I read all x)
      Loved your answers! I also really want to read We Are Okay >.< it's so tiny and easy to read but sounds so emotional and I don't know if I'm prepared for it yet?
      I am definitely checking out Between the Notes and Kabuliwallah: Stories (that I've never heard of). 😍 The Princess Saves Herself in this One is in my TBR and I've heard so many mix reviews on it I can't make myself buy it x) The title sounds so good but after reading your review? I am not getting this any time soon!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. YEEEEEES, MORE SHIKAMARU FANS!!! 😍😍😍 So awesome to know that you love him too! ❤❤❤ And same!! I haven’t started on We Are Okay yet cause I need to have lots of time and to be alone before I go on an emotional ride like that. I also thought that The Princess Saves Herself in This One sounded great but after reading it…major disappointment… 😦 It’s definitely not my cup of tea, that’s for sure. As for the other two books, check those out for sure! I can’t stop smiling when I read Between the Notes and Kabuliwallah makes me tear up whenever I think of it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

